Phone: (608) 266-0656 Toll-Free: (888) 529-0026 Rep.Katsma@legis.wi.gov

P.O. Box 8952 Madison, WI 53708-8952

Contact: Rep. Terry Katsma

(608) 266-0656

For Immediate Release June 10th, 2015

Second Amendment Rights Bills Pass State Assembly

Madison—Representative Terry Katsma (R–Oostburg) commends the passage of several bills in the Wisconsin State Assembly yesterday that not only help preserve citizens' Second Amendment rights but also stiffen penalties for violent offenders who misuse firearms.

<u>Senate Bill (SB) 35</u>—a repeal of Wisconsin's mandatory 48-hour waiting period for handgun purchases—had previously passed the State Senate; yesterday, it passed in the Assembly on a voice vote. It is expected to be signed into law soon by Governor Scott Walker.

Related bills also passed in the Assembly. <u>Assembly Bill (AB) 13</u> will help ensure that firearms seized by law enforcement from law-abiding citizens can be returned to their owners in a timely manner. <u>SB 70</u> exempts off-duty and former law enforcement officers from the state statute that prohibits the possession of firearms within 1,000 feet of a school. <u>AB 75</u> and <u>AB 77</u> expand eligibility for armed forces and law enforcement personnel to carry concealed weapons in Wisconsin. And <u>AB 220</u> establishes mandatory minimum prison sentences for violent offenders who possess firearms illegally or use them to commit further crimes.

"I'm really glad to see SB 35 heading to the Governor's desk," said Rep. Katsma. "I cosponsored this measure because, these days, background checks can usually be conducted by firearm dealers in only a few minutes—and because there is no evidence that waiting periods have had any impact on reducing violence. I also think that AB 220 is going to help us better enforce the laws we already have and crack down harder on those few individuals who misuse firearms to prey on society."

###

Representative Terry Katsma represents the 26th Assembly District including the cities of Sheboygan and Sheboygan Falls; the villages of Adell, Oostburg, Random Lake and Cedar Grove; and the towns of Lima, Holland, Sherman and Wilson. He serves as the Vice-Chair of the Committee on Financial Institutions and as a member of the committees on Consumer Protection, Housing and Real Estate, Ways and Means and Workforce Development.